Honoring Lifetime Trustee Stephen L. Neal ZSR Trustees commemorate Neal’s nearly 40 years of service to the Foundation

Announcements, News

To celebrate and commemorate his nearly 40 years of service to the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, Trustees have gifted $250,000 to the Stephen L. Neal Directed Fund, at The Winston-Salem Foundation.

The former Congressman, who represented North Carolina’s 5th congressional district from 1975 to 1995, was honored at the Foundation’s May 2017 Board meeting in Winston-Salem by his colleagues. This gift commemorates Neal’s service to the Foundation and recognizes his support of a number of charitable causes and other nonprofit efforts across North Carolina.

“The Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation is one of North Carolina’s fabulous treasures,” said ZSR Lifetime Trustee Steve Neal. “It has been a privilege to work with the outstanding and dedicated Board of Trustees and staff, who are working to help improve the quality of life for the people of North Carolina. It is also a pleasure to be able to work with The Winston-Salem Foundation and its fine people as it facilitates charity and philanthropy.”

“Steve’s contributions to the Foundation’s Board, and to North Carolina, have been invaluable,” said Dr. Lloyd “Jock” Tate, president of the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation. “We have been extremely fortunate to work alongside someone who has always engaged in improving the quality of life for all of North Carolina’s people. The amount of knowledge Steve has brought to the Foundation and the indelible mark he has made on all of us is very much appreciated.”

A sampling of other Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation grants, in recognition of long-term service, have included:

  • The Joseph G. Gordon Fund at The Winston-Salem Foundation in the amount of $250,000, to honor the life of Joseph G. Gordon, a longtime Trustee of the Foundation. Established in 1986, Wake Forest University awards Joseph G. Gordon scholarships to students who show exceptional promise and achievement and who are members of constituencies traditionally underrepresented at Wake Forest. Up to seven Gordon scholars are chosen annually.
  • The Zachary T. Smith Fellowship Program at Wake Forest University in the amount of $250,000 to honor the life of longtime Trustee Zachary T. Smith. Established in 1996, Zachary T. Smith Leadership Scholarships support North Carolinians based on need, leadership experience, and academic standing. The Zachary T. Smith Scholarship is a competitive need-based scholarship.
  • Hubert H. Humphrey, in the amount of $250,000 to the Community Foundation of Greater Greensboro for the Hubert H. Humphrey School Improvement Award, an award named in honor and in memory of the life and contributions of Hubert B. Humphrey, Jr., who served as a Trustee of the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation for more than 20 years and also served as the Foundation’s legal counsel during that time.

Neal began serving as a Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation Trustee in 1979. ZSR Trustees become “Lifetime Trustees” after age 80.